she who keeps this diary


01 October 2004 - 11:53 AM

I need waders

More flooded roads yesterday. This time I decided to backtrack and go around rather than plow through. Tough and stubborn aside, there are just times when you'd rather have a quarter horse than a Shetland pony.

The Viking and I are planning on being at University tomorrow, though the desire for sleep may intervene. His new job involves 10-hour days and he has to be at work by 8 am. I'm keeping pretty much the same sleep schedule I had while I was teaching because of the longer commute, so I'm not especially sympathetic to his complaints about how early he has to get up. And my poor sister has to leave her house at 6:30 in the morning to get to her new school on time, so by comparison, both the Viking's and my schedules look positively luxurious.

Sis seems a lot happier at the new school, though, which is good. I know I'm much more cheerful now that I'm away from OLPA. Amazing what a change of environment will do for one's attitude.

Back to work. I've been assigned something that's been floating around for the last five years, and at least a third of what's in it has already been dealt with by other, more recent projects. The programme people don't seem to believe that, though, so my first task is convincing them that the plan needs revision. Again.

verso - recto

The WeatherPixie

Current Reading Past Readings Bookplate Bindery Signatures of Other Readers