she who keeps this diary


21 September 2006 - 2:32 PM

Stab stab stabbity stab

I really hate it when people who should know better suggest that our mediaeval antecedents were stupid. Or uneducated and illiterate. Or both.

I also hate it when they elevate mediaeval craftsmanship to the plane of 'so good, and we can't replicate these effects any more.'

As you might imagine, one of the lists I'm on is currently mired down in a ... discussion? I don't want to dignify it by calling it a debate ... over mediaeval practice, transmission of knowledge, use of written directions in the Middle Ages, and blah blah blah. There's a mix of both hated attitudes in it -- sometimes coming from the same people. You can imagine how I feel about the whole stupid thing.

I want to stab these people with my doublepoints. Fortunately for them, I love my doublepoints and don't wish to harm them, and therefore the perpetrators of this assault on sense and reason are safe. For the moment.

verso - recto

The WeatherPixie

Current Reading Past Readings Bookplate Bindery Signatures of Other Readers