she who keeps this diary


06 July 2006 - 9:41 AM

Swimming

Come gather round people wherever you roam
And admit that the waters around you have grown
And accept it that soon you'll be drenched to the bone
If your time to you is worth saving
Then you'd better start swimming or you'll sink like a stone
For the times, they are a-changing

I'd like it better if the weather, it were a-changing. I love a good rain, but this is getting ridiculous.

I'm going to blame the rain for the fact that my internet connection at home has been spotty. It seems that when we have a lot of rain, the phone line develops a burr and then the DSL cuts out. I'm sure that calling Verizon and yelling might eventually get things fixed, but given past history with Verizon's repair service, it might just be easier to wait for things to dry out.

I'm also going to blame the rain for the fact that my eyes have done nothing but itch for the past week. Warm + wet = mold bloom. Bleh.

Baby Shedir is creeping along. There was a difficult patch just at the transition from Saxon braids to star, but it seems to have come right again and I am hoping to get it done in the next week or so.

I haven't been playing overmuch with my smocked blouse schemes, in part because it occurred to me that I have a family wedding to attend in a couple weeks and it might just be nice to have something to wear to that. Well, something new to wear, anyway. Also in the stash from Grandmaman were several different black-and-white floral prints, mostly cotton lawn or broadcloth. I am using one to make McCall's 5094 (View D, without the superfluous bow). I got it mostly laid out and the bodice mostly assembled on Tuesday. I say "mostly laid out" because I discovered I was about half a yard short on having enough muslin for the skirt lining. The pattern only calls for lining the bodice, but since the fabric is a fine lawn, and a white ground, lining the whole thing seems like the best course of action. I need to stop tonight on the way home and pick up some muslin so I can finish the thing this weekend.

verso - recto

The WeatherPixie

Current Reading Past Readings Bookplate Bindery Signatures of Other Readers