she who keeps this diary


08 June 2006 - 9:49 AM

Mishaps

This is the week in which things fall apart.

Actually, this probably started last week, when the untimely end of a circuit breaker in the server room meant absence of network for a day and half, until an electrician could be summoned to fix it.

On Monday, I received back a docket which has been a bloody albatross, a thing hung around my neck for months, with the long-wished-for "Ok for jacket" pencilled on the front. A few last edits, and the thing is out of my hands, yes?

No.

The file had disappeared from the network drive where it was stored. IT responded with an upward wafting of palms and a shrug. I have to retype the whole 40-page nightmare from scratch.

To add insult to injury, WordPerfect did nothing but crash every 10-15 minutes all day Tuesday and Wednesday. Suffice it to say that I am not yet done retyping the thing.

Yesterday also my phone did not work. I had a call from a programme contact about something, and the line kept dropping. I got maybe 1/3 of what he said. At least the email worked.

Today, I get in to work and there is an email from facilities. There's been a water main break in the vicinity, so we have no water pressure.

I am grateful however, that all these mishaps have been limited to work. Aside from Fergus kicking over a water pitcher a few times, things at home have been peaceful.

As followup from yesterday, I should add that the coffee grounds in question are the ones left over after you have made coffee. Fresh ground coffee might be a bit too much.

In other news, I was looking at an early 20th c. lace knitting pattern which called for the pieces to be joined with 'narrow open Honiton braid.'

As you might expect, I had no real idea what Honiton braid is. Googling, I found: Antiques Digest, "The Best Known Varieties Of Laces," (originally published 1924):

Honiton braid is a narrow, machine-made fabric; the variety in most general use is composed of a series of oval-shaped figures united by narrow bars. It comes in different widths in linen, cotton, and silk, and is used in the manufacture of lace handkerchiefs and lace.

On the one paw, at least it's not crochet. On the other, dammit, a embroidered faggoting stitch would make my life easier. (And indeed it still might, if I choose to knit the item in question). Chadwick Heirlooms has some 1/4" lace beading which might substitute, though it seems a bit wide.

This is my day -- no water and obsolete passementerie. How are you?

verso - recto

The WeatherPixie

Current Reading Past Readings Bookplate Bindery Signatures of Other Readers