she who keeps this diary


10 February 2006 - 11:37 AM

Cake, and eating it

Dear Knitgeek and hun-e-b, I would be honoured to see your cake recipes. Miracle whip and whisky both seem like unlikely candidates for chocolate cake ingredients, but I'm willing to give them a shot. Though actually buying Miracle Whip might be against my religion as a Southerner. I'll have to think about that.

And Lady Rhi, it's not heresy so much as a process/product thing. Duncan Hines does make some excellent cake mixes, but I get half my jollies, at least, from the business of making the cake, and opening the box and adding oil and eggs just doesn't satisfy.

Which is not to say that I don't sometimes use cake mixes, when time is tight and I need to produce something good. But when I have the time, I like to indulge myself in enjoying the process.

It's supposed to snow this weekend. Sounds like an excellent excuse to clean up the kitchen and try a couple new recipes.

verso - recto

The WeatherPixie

Current Reading Past Readings Bookplate Bindery Signatures of Other Readers