she who keeps this diary


04 November 2004 - 10:48 AM

Lost in Translation

Just another day here at the farm, attempting to bring order out of chaos, sense of of nonsense, and so on. Sadly, our field trip ... er, site visit today was cancelled, so I am still trying to decipher that risk assessment. This is a typical sentence:

There has been extensive documentation of differences in PrPSc between TSE isolates, usually depending on the measurement of apparent molecular weights (Mr)of the aglycosyl form of the PrPSc after proteinase K digestion and determination of the relative amount of the three glycoforms of PrPSc by sodium dodecyl sulphate (SDS)-polacrylamide gel electrophoresis (PAGE).

I'm sure it's perfectly clear to anyone who's taken organic chemistry. Shockingly, organic chemistry was not a requirement for any of my degrees in literature or history, and thus I did not take it. I therefore find myself at something of a disadvantage here, but on the other hand, I was hired in part because I don't have a background in this kind of thing. The theory is that as an informed non-scientist, I can translate the important bits into language the general public can understand.

We all know what I think of theories.

verso - recto

The WeatherPixie

Current Reading Past Readings Bookplate Bindery Signatures of Other Readers