she who keeps this diary


22 October 2004 - 10:05 AM

The Stooge-y Fun Never Stops

I had just gotten home last night when I got an email from Sis. It looks as though the Stooges at OLPA are back to their old comic hijinks, this time directing elephant dung at another English teacher. Sis had just heard about it from yet another teacher. I don't have all the details, but it looks ugly. I am so grateful that I am out of that place, and at the same time so angry that those morons are in charge of my school -- are ruining my school. OLPA wasn't always the way it is now. They've made it awful. Bastards.

There are some differences, though, in the situations Sis and I were in last spring and the one that the other teacher is in now. I have some, perhaps slightly misguided, hope that maybe this time, the Stooges will pay for what they've done. I'm not a big believer in karma, but I do know that actions have consequences, and so far, the consequences haven't come home to roost. But maybe this time. Maybe.

At least Sis and I are out of there, and we don't have to get up in the morning feeling sick to our stomachs because we have to go to work. But I feel awful for the teacher who's the latest victim of the stoogery.

Afternoon update: Stumbled over this while looking for something else. Perspectives on Teacher Burnout and School Reform. OLPA could be a textbook case.

verso - recto

The WeatherPixie

Current Reading Past Readings Bookplate Bindery Signatures of Other Readers