she who keeps this diary


08 October 2004 - 1:31 PM

Not Quite Teatime, but Long Anyway

And the afternoon drags on ...

What is it about the Fridays before long weekends? They never end. Anticipation? It's not like I have anything exciting planned this weekend. It's not even like I have long patches of companionable boredom with the Viking to look forward to.

On the other hand, the bulbs will provide a certain thrill. I think it's the sort of thrill only a gardener would understand, though. I need to feel dirt under my fingernails.

My saffron crocuses have started to come back, though I only count three and I planted a full dozen last fall. Should I wait, or plant some more now? Perhaps I can keep myself usefully annoyed for the rest of the afternoon thinking about that.

At least today is turning out better than yesterday, where the highlight turned out to be 800 mg of ibuprofen for lunch. Killed the pain, but left me loopy all afternoon. I don't like hurting, but I like being loopy even less.

3 hours until I can go home. Should I buy more saffron crocuses this year? What about Blue Parrot tulips?

verso - recto

The WeatherPixie

Current Reading Past Readings Bookplate Bindery Signatures of Other Readers