she who keeps this diary


30 September 2004 - 9:42 AM

Wrung Out

I woke up this morning to blattering rain. Normally I like rainy days, but they're significantly more fun if I can stay home and drink coffee and putter around the house. Today I don't have that luxury. I don't even have access to a window so I can at least watch the rain.

What is it about rainy days that makes people forget how to drive? There's plenty of stupidity on the roads at the best of times, to be sure, but it seems to intensify when the rain is falling. I can't wait for the first snow flurry ... what a joy that will be.

Speaking of stupidity, I'm increasingly unimpressed with morning radio. All I really want is to hear a capsule of the news, the weather forecast and the current traffic. Then I want the DJs to shut up and play music. But radio morning shows seem to be all about 'personalities,' so they don't just shut up and play music. There's always public radio, of course, but I'd prefer something I can sing along with. My bel canto experience was long enough ago that warbling along with the flute parts in a Vivaldi concerto is a little past my abilities.

This morning, even the weather report on the radio was unsatisfactory. 'Cloudy with chance of showers,' it said, and I wondered, there in my car with my windshield wipers barely able to keep up with the downpour and the visibility at 20 feet, what the showers would be like if this was 'cloudy with a chance.'

I should go downstairs to the cafeteria and get coffee. Perhaps a little caffeine will make the day look better. Although, given the quality of the coffee here, perhaps it won't.

verso - recto

The WeatherPixie

Current Reading Past Readings Bookplate Bindery Signatures of Other Readers