she who keeps this diary


29 July 2004 - 6:10 PM

Just one ray of sunshine after another ...

As a result of wild, arrant stupidity on the part of the docs who run the practice where the Viking works, the practice may be closing, and the Viking will have to find a new job. Needless to say, he is completely thrilled about this turn of events.

(The decision to close the practice isn't official yet, but apparently morale is so low the office manager was looking up resume-building materials to give to the nurses. That says something).

There is something ergonomically unhappy about my work area. Understand, I had carpal tunnel syndrome long before I got here, and I am used to dealing with it and used to living with pain. But I noticed on Monday that every nerve in my arm was screaming all the way up to my shoulder. This made it difficult to drive home. I have traced the source of this neurological discontent to the placement of the mouse. Everything in the workspace adjusts -- height, angle, etc. -- so I should be able to arrange things to correct the problem. The trick will be discovering what the correct arrangement is.

But hey, the China Doll plant (Radermachera sinica) is performing like a champ in the cube and the boss lady is happy because I am applying my long-ago archival training to fixing a set of reference notebooks she uses on a daily basis.

verso - recto

The WeatherPixie

Current Reading Past Readings Bookplate Bindery Signatures of Other Readers