she who keeps this diary


27 February 2004 - 10:59 AM

Follow the Directions

Argh.

How many times since the start of the semester have I told my British Lit. students (two sections, total of 60 sprogs) that for their research papers they are not to use general encyclopedias (e.g. Encarta) and that no more than 1/4 of their sources may be web sites? Many many times? Why yes, I did so. Did I give them all this information on handouts, and did I post it on my school web site, so they could access the material even if they lost the form? Why, yes, yes I did.

And how many working bibliographies do I have in my hands which list general encyclopedias, or are nothing more than a list of URLs?

They makes us crazy, and we hates them, don't we, precious? Yes, we hates them, hates them forever!

Oops. That was my out-loud voice, wasn't it?

Deep sigh.

I think maybe I should construct an entire lesson plan in Latin (they complain much about Latin in my class, because, venom-slavering ogre that I am, I make them learn the etymologies of the weekly vocabulary words). Certainly speaking English isn't working.

The problem of course is that if I did actually speak Latin to them for a whole class period, they might not notice.

verso - recto

The WeatherPixie

Current Reading Past Readings Bookplate Bindery Signatures of Other Readers