she who keeps this diary


18 November 2003 - 12:53 PM

Sometimes Nice Things DO Happen

This morning before classes started, one of the boys in the British Literature class stopped by my room with one of those distinctive gold bags from a famous brand-name chocolatier.

'This is from my sister,' he said, handing it to me. His sister, who graduated last year, is a lovely young lady whom I had the privilege of teaching twice, in Modern American and British Lit. courses. Inside the bag, a note and half a pound of choccies. She's thriving at university, which I knew she would, but bless her, she misses me and appreciates the efforts I put into helping her prepare for life beyond our narrow halls. What a day-brightener.

verso - recto

The WeatherPixie

Current Reading Past Readings Bookplate Bindery Signatures of Other Readers