she who keeps this diary


04 September 2003 - 3:14 PM

Insert Clever Title Here

Stress-related sleep disruptions are such fun. I keep waking up at 3 am and lying there until my alarm goes off, staring at the ceiling. Oh well, in a couple of weeks I'll be so exhausted that I'll sleep straight through the night with no problems.

The state loan textbooks are distributed, and now I can really start teaching. I was running out of things to do with my freshpeople, especially. The only thing I don't have is the vocabulary books for the British Lit. kids, and that is a result of a snafu with the state ordering. It's a nuisance but less of one than not having the textbooks.

Maman emailed to say that Grandmaman phoned in a panic in the pre-dawn darkness saying she thought Grandpapa had had a stroke. I phoned Maman after classes dismissed, and she had no updates (not even an idea if it was really a stroke or if Grandmaman was just exercising her usual hyperbole), so all I really know at this point is that Grandpapa was in hospital this morning. Nothing to do but wait and pray.

verso - recto

The WeatherPixie

Current Reading Past Readings Bookplate Bindery Signatures of Other Readers