she who keeps this diary


10 November 2004 - 1:23 PM

Attack of the Stupid

It's so much easier to be cheerful when one is not surrounded by stupidity.

I'm not sure what the problem is (phase of the moon? alignment of planets?) but it's been a bad week for stupid on the roads. So far I've managed to avoid colliding with the stupid, but some of the calls have been close.

The completion of an assignment I'd love to get off my desk is being thwarted by the stupid from down the hall. I have been getting explanations every other week for the last six weeks of why what should be a simple analysis isn't done yet. This week's explanation included assurances that the necessary data will be on my desk by the end of next week. Please observe that I am not holding my breath in anticipation of this prediction coming true.

This morning's vexed amusement came from public stupid, in the form an individual who is outraged that a public comment on a public rulemaking is (gasp) a matter of public record and thus is available to any member of the public who wishes to see it. Let me get this straight, you want your opinion to be recorded, but you don't want anyone to see the record?

Am I fed up? Am I annoyed? Would I like to get out the big hammer and bring it down firmly on a few deserving souls? Why yes, yes I would.

Steady, girl. Tomorrow's a holiday. There will be no need to deal with the stupid on the roads, or down the hall, or among the public. There will be gardening, and a new computer game to play, and probably an afternoon nap. It will all be fine. Deep breath.

Sis sent this along as a thing to do when you're bored. Wiggle the mouse around once the page loads ....

verso - recto

The WeatherPixie

Current Reading Past Readings Bookplate Bindery Signatures of Other Readers