she who keeps this diary


09 October 2003 - 2:16 PM

Bottle of Rum?

I am sitting in the faculty room, staring at the soda machine, wondering why there is no button marked 'Rum' between the ones for 'Sprite Remix' and 'Caffeine-free Diet Coke.'

Tears in first period (14-year-old girls have bad days in ways that anyone who isn't, or hasn't been, a 14-year-old girl cannot understand). Health room passes and a near-faint in second. Third period was only loud, which was either a blessing or the last thing I needed. I can't decide.

My head hurts. So does my shoulder, still. The shoulder problem, it occurred to me, is very like the shoulder trouble I had during the last 12 weeks I was working on my PhD thesis. I was so tense I actually pinched a nerve in my shoulder because my muscles were so tight. Things are not quite as bad this time, but it's certainly not as though I haven't been under stress.

The Viking wants to throw a Halloween party, and I can't say I disagree with this idea. We have already had some wonderful, awful ideas, and for the first time in a very long time I am having fun sewing something. No sense of obligation, no worries about authentic cut, fabric, or colour, no stress. I think we may need to have costume parties more often.

Today's Timewaster: Historic Tale Construction Kit

verso - recto

The WeatherPixie

Current Reading Past Readings Bookplate Bindery Signatures of Other Readers